It’s hard to believe how fast time goes by sometimes.  It’s funny that when you don’t like something you are doing, like a final exam or waiting at the doctor’s office, time seems to slow down.  On the flip side, when you are doing something fun and exciting, like ziplining through the hills of Gatlinburg on a cool December day, times goes by in a blink.  I guess that is because when you are thinking about the time, it crawls, and when you are carefree and enjoying the moment, time skates ahead at light speed.

My family enjoys my humor on occasion and yesterday was one of those times.  I made a comment to my Mother about not having taken a nap in the past 20 years and I wasn’t about to start now.  This struck the funny bone of most everyone in attendance and since last night, the words “I ain’t done that in 20 years, and I ain’t gonna start now!!” have come up a few times.  This got me thinking about all the things that have happened in my life in the past 20 years, and some things that I haven’t done again in the past 20 years.  It’s amazing how things change around you and sometimes you don’t even notice it until years have gone by.

In the past 2 decades, a lot has happened in my life, not surprisingly.  Twenty years ago, I was a freshman in high school.  I was a soccer player who could run all day long and still breathe easy.  Today, not so much.  I was also on the track team, jumping over hurdles as I circled the track.  It was almost time for me to get my license, so that was always on my mind.  Life was great.

Since those early days, life has had its up and downs.  There has been multiple surgeries, yes, but there has also been zero surgeries in the past 13 years, which is a blessing.  I have moved multiple times, been to a few different colleges, earned 1 degree, and almost another one.  Working on my first 4 year degree now.  I have been laid off twice, have broken 2 bones, and discovered that I love to cook as well as write.  I used to love cats and never wanted a dog.  Now I have a cat and have had multiple dogs, currently have 2 big dogs, and love them to death.

I have been married for 7 years, have an amazing wife and step-daughter, 14 nieces and nephews, and a big loving family.  I am so happy where this life has taken me and I am looking forward to seeing where it goes next.  Sure, I flew a helicopter when I was 15 years old, and I haven’t done it again since, but that’s ok.  How many people can say they have done it at all, ever?  Thanks Mom and Dad for that opportunity.  Now that I am back in school, I am learning that all the math I used to love in high school is now super hard after a 15 year break without using it.  It’ll come back with time, I hope.  I haven’t been to the town where I grew up in a very long time.  I need to take a trip up north to Massena, NY to see it once again, but I will wait till a summer day when the temperature is most likely above freezing.  Ha Ha.

This list could go on and on forever, but the important thing is that I am happy where I am at now.  All the ups and downs, good and bad times, and everything in between are the things that got me to where I am and I am thankful for that.

Til next time, hopefully not 20 years from now,

Simon

