I’ve been through a lot in my life, as some of you may know. My medical history reads like a novel, and the surgical scars on my body tell so many stories. But it’s ok, because everything that I have been through has made me the person I am today. I am here and I am grateful.

My friend Sarah is running the Walt Disney World Marathon right this second, as I type this. In fact, just a few minutes ago, Mickey posted her progress on her Facebook wall, as she just crossed the 10 mile mark in under an 1:40:00. It’s amazing to me that anyone can run a marathon, especially someone I know, who I have watched from the beginning of training. She has come a very long way and I’m proud of her for making it this far.

Everyone I know has challenges in their lives. Some have bigger challenges than others, but overcoming the challenges that are important to you is the most important thing. My challenge a few years ago was to run a 5K. I did that. Last year, it was to ride a century on my bike in one day. I did that. This year, one of my challenges is to do a triathlon. I am signed up for a Sprint Triathlon in April and I am looking forward to it. I don’t anticipate any “sprinting”, but all I want to do is finish. I know it is a race, but the only one i am racing against is my own doubt. It’s easy to say you can’t do something. It’s hard to do something new. I just think it looks fun. Like my Spin Class teacher always says, “If it was easy, everybody would be doing it.”.

Baby steps is all it takes and every challenge can be overcome. Sarah is proving that right now. She is such an inspiration to many, including me.

Happy Sunday Everyone.

Simon A.

