Today’s weather is not perfect, but it’s good enough to get out on the bike. The temp is climbing toward 60 degrees now and the clouds are holding in the warmer air. More importantly, it’s less windy than it was on Tuesday, which should make for a nice ride.

Today is Day 5 of my Triathlon Training and I shall do many things today in the interest of fitness. A casually paced 17-18 mile bike ride here in a few hours at lunchtime will start off the festivities. Tonight, I will stomp out a 5K on the treadmill at the YMCA, followed by an hour of yoga. I normally would do spin class tonight, but I think since I am going to ride at lunch, my spin instructor will understand. On Tuesday, I did to both, cycling outdoors and spin class at night and boy were my legs tired. The yoga on Tuesday did help stretch out the quads though, and they were very thankful. Monday and Wednesday nights, I try to get to the pool after running a 5K or doing the elliptical for 3 or 4 miles. This week, I swam 600 yards both nights, followed by an hour Deep Water Fitness Class. All in all, I feel that I am getting a full body workout with all the variations of exercise I am subjecting myself to on a daily basis.

Other than the motivation of familiar faces at the gym, and cycling buddies on the road, I really enjoy reading the blogs of other athletes. I know this process just started for me, as it has for many of you also, but just to read about the challenges and success stories of you all really helps me be able to see where I am going and to know that it is worth it. At times, I feel that I will never be able to run a 5K consistently or increase my speed, or that I will not be able to routinely swim laps without stopping for breaks, or ride faster on the bike without burning myself out. But then I see how others overcame these things and I know that I can overcome them too. That’s what keeps me going, so I want to thank all of you who read my blog, comment on my posts and workout summaries here and other social media venues, and give me advice to move forward. I also want to thank all of you, who share your stories with me, so I can see what is possible.
While I was in the pool last night doing laps, I stopped to take a breather, and a young man commented on my swimming stroke, saying that I was a great swimmer. I thanked him graciously and he continued to tell me that he just learned to swim and was on a program to be able to swim a mile continuously in 6 weeks time. I told him he looked pretty good for just started out. He’s in the same boat as me right now, where I can swim like a fish, but only for a lap or two at a time, and then I am out of gas and have to rest. I told him that I was going to look up that training program he spoke of and make try it myself. As it turns out, my triathlon training sort of includes the same swimming training as his program, with one less day a week of swimming. His program has 3 days of swimming per week, where mine only has two. I know he was not an expert swim coach or anything, but just him saying that I was a great swimmer motivated me to swim farther, with a little more speed, and with better technique ( I hope).

PS:
Can one of you come with me while I run and tell me that I am doing great? That is where I need the most help in my opinion. LOL. 🙂

Thanks for reading.

More updates and insights to come. Time to bike.

Simon A.

