Enjoying the lake trail with my dogs.

Enjoying the lake trail with my dogs.

I was supposed to ride my bike today, on an amazing 45 mile course with great friends. Other obligations prevented me from doing just that, dedicating the afternoon to the open road. However, between other necessary actions of the day, I managed to get a few workouts in. First, I took my dogs on a 4 mile walk, from the house to the YMCA, around the lake a few times and then back home. We all enjoyed that, and it wasn’t even the warmest part of the day yet.

Path to the lake through the woods

Path to the lake through the woods

After making myself some lunch and doing some other things, I drove back to the YMCA, walked down to the same lake I was at with the dogs earlier, and proceeded to jog a 5K, which was about 6 laps around the lake. This run was to make up for the fact that the dogs wouldn’t run with me this morning, and for the fact that I didn’t get in a run yesterday. All I got to do yesterday was build a fence, and bike 20 miles. I was so cold after the bike ride, I traded in the 5K run for a hot shower. Today was different. The weather was warm, and the run went well. After I finished, the YMCA was about to open for the day, so I went inside and swam 500 yards in the pool, followed by a hot soak in the hot tub.

Rear view of the trail. Love the trees.

Rear view of the trail. Love the trees.

Once I got home, I bathed the dogs on the porch in the sun, and then made dinner for myself and my wife. Eating burgers with wifey is the perfect end to a glorious day. So I missed a great bike ride today, but I still think I made a pretty good day of it. What do you think?

Back on the pavement.  Parking lot approaches.

Back on the pavement. Parking lot approaches.

