It’s been a few weeks since I have written anything. It’s been so busy around here, and with the ice storm a few weeks back, I have been keeping myself occupied by cutting down and chopping up trees that have fallen. It’s stillI a mess out there, with tree limb piles on every street, just waiting for the clean up crews to come take it away. My carport has a few years worth of firewood split and stacked now, thanks to our poor pear trees that did not survive the ice.

All American Sprint Triathlon (Thomasville, NC - April 26, 2014)

All American Sprint Triathlon
(Thomasville, NC – April 26, 2014)

Because of the storm, not only was the power out at our house for 4 days, but I have gotten really out of sync when it comes to working out and writing. This week, I finally got back to the gym and did a few classes, got back in the pool and did some swimming, and today I got back on the treadmill. It wasn’t easy, but I managed to get a few slow miles in, and plan to continue training strong for the next few weeks. My first triathlon is in exactly a month, and I want to be in good enough shape to at least cross the finish line under my own power. Finishing a triathlon will be a big deal for me. I played sports in school, from basketball to soccer to track, and I was decent at most of them. But that was a long time ago. Now I am older and not in the best of shape. I have some work to do, and I am doing it, but it is going to take time and effort. I have ran some 5K’s, put many many miles on my bike, and seem to be getting back in the swing of things in the pool too. What I have never done is do all 3 of those things during the same event, continuously. It will be a challenge, I know, but it will also make my accomplishment list one item longer, and one more checked item on my bucket list. One month to go and I am going to make it.

My wife is starting day shift next month, which is going to give her and I much more time together, including carpooling to and from work, and also more time to get outside and bike and run together. Since the weather is finally turning in the right direction, we will have the kayaks on the water soon also. We have decided to keep a blog of our adventures, and as my loyal readers, you will be the first to hear about it when I start it. We haven’t decided on a name for it yet, or if I will link it to this blog or start a completely new one. Regardless, I hope you have enjoyed my writings so far, as few of them as there are, and I hope you will follow our new one too. The way we are going to try to manage it is that I will log one of our adventures, and then the next time we do an activity, she will log it and put her spin on things. We have been wanting to write a novel together for years and have never had the time, so this will be our new beginning to start to write together and see where it goes. Stay tuned and I’ll let you know when it’s up and ready.

Hope everyone has a wonderful evening and week.
Talk to you again soon.

Simon A.

