Finally some Spring weather.

Finally some Spring weather.

My training for my triathlon has been hit and miss the past few weeks. With work being so busy, school coming to a close, and life in general being crazy now that we are carpooling together, training has taken a back seat. And that’s not even mentioning the weather factor. When it’s not raining or freezing, it’s hot and windy. And the pollen in the air has stuffed my nose like a turkey. I hate allergies. Excuses aside, the triathlon is this Saturday and I am trying to get as ready as I can.

On Monday, Cindy and I went to the park to jog. The running was going pretty good until an oncoming car made me nervous and I got too close to the edge of the pavement. My left ankle rolled over and I went down. The good news was that I didn’t feel a pop, so it didn’t break my ankle or even twist it, but it did sprain it pretty good. It never bruised, but even today, it’s still very tender to the touch and nicely swollen. After I rolled it, we jogged another mile or so, which may or may not have been a good idea. I haven’t run on it since, so hopefully the swelling will go down before Saturday. More IBuprofen for me.

Today, I decided to ride the bike, fist because it was beautiful outside, and also to see if pedalling messed with my ankle. I rode 16.5 miles and had no problems. So for the triathlon, I think my ankle will be fine up until the run at least. The 5K is mostly a trail run, so I will have to be super careful not to roll my ankle again on the roots. It will hurt much more doing it again since it’s already tender. I plan to take it easy and just make sure I finish. I hate injuries.

View from the shade

View from the shade

Treading carefully,

Simon A.

