Transition Goodies

Transition Goodies

Tomorrow is the day of my first triathlon. Time has been going by really fast lately and I can’t believe it’s time to race. I am not as nervous as I thought I would be, which is a good thing I guess. I have all my stuff set out for the race, which is kind of silly right now since the race isn’t until 4:00PM. I guess I just wanted to make sure I have it all. I went and picked up my race packet tonight at the venue and it turns out I am starting 14th out of like 65 or so. If I can hold that position, that would be great, but I am not counting on it. The race is between me and the finish line. If I can make it to that line, I will have accomplished something I have never done, and this time around, that is the goal. With training being in a slump lately and my ankle recoverying from a sprain, I think just finishing without further injury is a fair goal.

I’m pretty confident in my swimming abilities, and I was told that I am starting toward the last part of the first wave, so I shouldn’t have too many people right on my heels during the swim. I am even more confident on the bike. The route for the triathlon is a route that I ride regularly. It has a few quad damaging hills, but nothing I haven’t done dozens of times before. Knowing the route gives me an edge because I know where the hills are, so I can push when I know I have the space, and I can conserve when I know a hill is coming. The run will be my worst leg no doubt. I’m a mid-30’s 5K runner, but I haven’t run much lately. If I am going to lose some time, it will be on the run. More worry than the distance is the terrain. It’s a trail/road run, so I will need to pay very close attention to my ankle and the roots on the trail. Like I said before, this is my race against me and the finish. If I get passed, o well. It wouldn’t be the first time I got passed on a run race. I just want to do respectably, and have fun. I am already expecting it to be fun, so I am determined to keep it that way. I already have my next race picked out and I see plenty more in my future.

Wish me luck and safe passage. Come out and see me race if you are local. Join in and sign up if you are not busy tomorrow afternoon. Ha Ha. I’ll write up a full race report after it’s all said and done. I’m sure it will have a happy ending no matter what place I finish.

Enjoy your race tomorrow if you have one. I know I will.

Goodnight friends.

Simon A.

